Our mission is to provide motivation for young people to understand the need for a strong aerospace force component of our national defense posture. Scholarships and financial support are provided to allow our youth to participate in aerospace programs in which they might not otherwise be able to participate. Providing these awards and scholarships requires funds. The Dallas Aerospace Education Foundation of the Sam Johnson Chapter 232 that supports these programs is a 501(c)(3) organization and all contributions are fully deductible. Contributions should be sent to Mr. Ric Hamer, at 1965 Remington Lane, Frisco, TX 75033. Feel free to contact Ric at 214-500-0951 or by e-mailing Ric Hamer. Any amount is valuable and appreciated.


The purpose of the program is to recognize classroom teachers at the chapter and state level for their accomplishments and achievements in exciting K-12 students about science and math (STEM) and preparing them to use and contribute to tomorrow's technologies. This is a unique opportunity to reward special teachers who are furthering excellence and making coming to class an adventure. The winner of our chapter contest receives a cash award, and is entered into competition at the State level, where a larger cash award can be earned, and the winner at that level is entered into an AFA National Teacher of the Year contest. If you wish to nominate a teacher contact Ric Hamer at 214-500-0951 or by e-mailing Ric Hamer.

2023 Winner
Daniel Geiter - Walnut Grove High School, Prosper, Texas

Mr. Geiter is a certified professional mechanical engineer that started teaching about 3 years ago. The reason to make the career change is he wanted to help students learn some core skills that can be useful in the engineering profession before going to college. In his classes, he introduces students to technical drawing skills, power tools, computer programming, aerodynamics, civil engineering, and electrical engineering. Overall, the engineering program at PHS has grown by approximately 30% in the past three years and students have realized a love for technical fields.

Dan also sponsors multiple extracurricular programs. The engineering team participates in the Solar Car Challenge which will run a student-built solar car from Dallas, TX to Palmdale, CA. The FIRST Robotics team has made it to the world championship this year. The Skills USA Chapter had students win blue ribbons in four different competitions. The Girls in Computer Science organization encourages females to engage in STEM-related activities and provides computer science tutoring to all students in the school as required.